Brains vs Brawn

We all do it. It’s just a matter of how much and how often. (Oh, that opening sentence could go in so many directions, couldn’t it?)

I’m talking about committing. The battle between ego, will, self awareness and capability that tends to either define our successes or stress us out to no end (or both). Committing is the process of seeing your bar, pushing your bar farther out, and then deciding to try to put in the work in order to grab hold of it.

As I was out running hills this morning at the crack of dawn in 31 degrees (because it’s what I do) and because I’ve got goals, it occurred to me that I do this all of the time.

Hi. My name is Rachelle, and I’m a goal setter. It’s something of an addiction, for better or for worse.

In running, this means seeing an upcoming race and getting all excited about it, signing up and then realizing that I’ve got to get up early, battle the butterflies in my belly, sweat, work hard and handle the emotions that come with running hard. Oh, and train. A lot. In any weather that mother nature decides to wear on any given day. This pattern happens over and over. There are moments – like this morning when I realized that I was all alone except for the paper guy, outside in finger-numbing temps, trying to run at a 7 minute per mile pace on hills – that I remind myself that this is my choice and I like this. And no matter how many butterflies show up on race day, I’m glad that my brain committed to something that my brawn had to stand up and accomplish. Because if it was just up to my weenie-self brawn, I’d still be snuggled up in bed, not out accomplishing something ultimately important to my sense of self.

While committing in sports is a brains/brawn issue, it certainly doesn’t stop there. As a parent, we do this all the time. I commit to volunteering for my kids, knowing full well that the commitment might get huge. And that’s okay because it’s for my kids. Or my husband and I commit to setting and holding to standards for who our family is, knowing that actually holding to the standards might make us very unpopular.

Professionally, committing is a dangerous process if you don’t have it in you to see it through. You know the golden rule of service – under promise, over deliver. How counter-intuitive to commitment can you get? And yet, if you can make it happen, it can be the seed that grows your success.

It’s all about being intentional about the goals we set and knowing that what we’re committing to will have a real, positive impact.

Weigh in. In what parts of your life are you a goal setter – a committer? What does your brain commit you to that your brawn has to make happen? 

One thought on “Brains vs Brawn

  1. Pingback: Speedy Ambassadors | mewruns

Leave a Reply

