Training, Wailing & Gnashing of Teeth

It’s ‘officially’ the first day of summer in our house. Last week was rehab for the kids – time to veg out, stay up late, spend lots of time with friends and have almost zero responsibilities (except for that afternoon when they got in a fight and I made them work together to clean the upstairs of the house…). It was great, they were happy (except for the above mentioned hour and when the boy ate too much junk food and replayed a scene from the Exorcist at 1am on Sunday night – blech).

After what will probably go on the books as the greatest Memorial Day weekend holiday we’ve ever enjoyed, I got up at my usual 6am start time this morning to train. It was fun with numbers – first a short tempo run for an upcoming 5K (I know…train for a 5K? It’s just who I am. Let it be.) Not as fast as I’d like, but the gams were tired from 10+ yesterday, so whatever. Then this fun:

  • 20 push ups / 20 sit ups
  • 19 push ups / 19 sit ups
  • 18
  • 17

…so on and so forth until 1. In 20 minutes or less. (With good form.) You get lots of abs and arms in a brief amount of time, and oh the sweating.

(Quick break. Son just swore so he had to have a little soap snack. You’d think at almost 10 he’d know better. There’s soap in almost every room! I mean, come. on.)

After the workout, which has proven thus far to the be easiest part of my day, I worked a bit then woke the kids for swim team. Then motivated. Then fussed. Then dragged them to the pool. Ironically, once there, they didn’t want to leave. It was a couple of hours of activity, laughter and play. Some time to work in peace and chat with the other moms.

At lunch, we came home to clean up, eat and do our first day of Summer Lessons! I was so excited! We started Summer Lessons with a couple minutes of Math worksheets. They’re fun and reinforce skills that we don’t want to allow to get rusty. I was sure they’d love them! Summer Lessons are awesome! They are time together and give the kids a leg up!

You’d think I was peeling off their skin with tweezers. Wailing and gnashing of teeth.

After we finished those, we were going to build box robots – fun! Meet G1 and Funkbot. Maybe tomorrow, we’ll work on putting gears in them so they can move!

G1 and “Funkbot”

We’re headed to the Farmer’s Market to pick up a few goodies and discuss healthy diets in a little bit. I have some trepidation about it after the backfire of the early afternoon, but surely they won’t have a fit in public…right? Persevere. That’s the summer lesson I’m going to learn this summer, I think. I’ll keep at it because I love them, because I’m fortunate to work from home and have the opportunity to do this with them, and as it says on our math workbook:

“It has been proven that children benefit immensely when parents take an active role in their education…”

Hopefully, my kids will get something out of it too.

Leave a Reply

