The right place at the right time

Ever looked backwards and realized that you were in the right place at the right time?

The schedule this morning was off the norm, and in retrospect, it’s clear that there was a higher power in play because today has been a right place/right time kind of day.

Backstory. Thursday mornings are youth group for my son. He has to be out the door before 7am, which is nearly impossible for him (lots of cajoling to free him from the sleep tractor beam). Frankly, it’s not ideal for me either because it interferes with my morning run time (which typically happens early enough that it doesn’t interfere with anything…I’m not sure my kids would believe I run as much as I do except that I always stink when I get them up.) My husband, knowing me as he does, kindly offered to handle the carpool so I could take Runner Pup out for a quick spin this morning. I still waited until the guys were on their way before heading out (yay for houseguests who are happily still in bed at 7am and willing to ‘watch’ my still asleep daughter).

Starting a run at 7am is not my norm so, while I’m accustomed to having a sky full of bright early morning stars, I’m not so used to a huge moon hanging low on the horizon. If you were out this morning, you know what I’m talking about. It was like a movie prop and it was an amazing gift. Right time, right place. (Just wish I’d had a camera…and that I could take good pictures.)

After the run, I got my daughter ready and to school – in the car, not her normal bus ride. While there, I thought I’d just make a quick stop into the staff mail room, where my PTA mailbox is located. (I’m the co-president of the elementary PTA…it’s a privilege and as was confirmed today, has its perks.)

A teacher approached me while I was signing some checks, and gave me a very sound, very thoughtful observation and piece of advice. It was an unnecessary, brave and caring gesture, and one that I am overwhelmed with gratitude to have received. The conversation confirmed something that I’d been mulling over and discussing with my husband for some time. It came unexpectedly, and had I not zipped into the mailroom on a whim, it wouldn’t have happened. Now that it did, I realize again, that it somehow I was in the right time, right place to be enriched.

All of this to say that it’s so simple to look at the big things in our lives and see we were there at the right time, right place. But it’s in the quotidian where we sometimes have the most eye-opening, formative encounters. We just have to recognize them for the gifts they are.

Where have you had powerful right place/right time experiences? Do you see them as serendipity or the hand of a higher power? 

2 thoughts on “The right place at the right time

  1. Well, you were quite mystical there about the exact nature of the observation/advice, but I have definitely had plenty moments where the right thing happened at the right time. Two years ago, I had a terrible falling out with a close friend. I felt angry, frustrated, and hurt. My running was just starting to kick in at that time. I worked through all those raw emotions during a string of intense runs.

    I also count it as serendipity that I found you at that AMR party last Spring! I knew immediately that we were meant to become better friends. I was thrilled when you agreed to come run Tallahassee with me!

    There are plenty more examples in my life, but I think it boils down to the fact that we are the hands and feet of God. God helps us find those just-right moments when we could use a little uplifting, as well as pointing out the opportunities when we can do the same for others.

    All I know is that my life has been so enriched by getting to know you. You are a shining example and inspiration to me in so many ways. I think God sent you to me at just the right time in just the right way to be my friend. 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh, that is so kind. And you said it perfectly! Thank you.
    (As for the actual advice, it doesn’t really matter what it was – it was the timing and unexpectedness that made it so perfect.)

Leave a Reply

