#BostonStrong Monday Marathon

My dog (AKA “Runner Pup” on DailyMile or “Ruthie” at home) woke me up at 4:16 this morning. By 5:00, I gave up trying to sleep and as my feet hit the floor, I knew what I needed to do.

Actually, the idea had occurred to me over the weekend, and I knew I’d need to start early and work in spurts throughout the day, but I decided at the early hour to get started running a marathon. Today. I put in 13 miles before breakfast, and another 10 over lunch, leaving 3 to do tonight – hopefully with one of the #BostonStrong groups in my area.

Nuts? Perhaps. (My quads currently think so.) But I disagree, and here’s why.

On April 21, 2014, I plan to be at the start line for the Boston Marathon.

Over the past week, and over the year to come, many will work hard to make sure that we lucky runners have a course laid for us. They have worked so hard this week in the face of unthinkable horrors. So we can run, they will take extra care, provide extra security, plan more, execute carefully…all so we can run. Life and death – so people can run. It’s a level of generosity that baffles me. I am amazed, humbled and so thankful for these people.

I’m also running – like thousands others today – as a show of respect and honor to all those who have endured the incredible difficulties of this past week.

No time to write more – have spent more than my free time today running. Gladly and thankfully.

2 thoughts on “#BostonStrong Monday Marathon

  1. Wow, what an endeavor. I am just planning to run with the #BostonStrongNYC group tonight. Hope you’re able to run as well and finish up your marathon! I’m in awe that you can do that on a Monday! That’s a lot of heart and dedication.

  2. Pingback: Looking in my windows | mewruns

Leave a Reply

